Skip to main content
SolarEdge storage

SolarEdge Home Battery

A larger DC-coupled unit that charges straight off the array without converting to AC and back. That is where its 94.5% round-trip efficiency comes from, and it is also why it cannot be installed without a SolarEdge inverter to sit behind.

Every figure below is from the SolarEdge datasheet. No price is listed: residential storage is quoted installed, and an equipment price without the installation is not a number you can compare.

Usable capacity
9.7 kWh
of 10 kWh total
Continuous power
5 kW
peak 7.5 kW
Round trip
94.5%
energy out per unit in
Warranty
10 years
Not specified
Coupling
DC
requires SolarEdge Home Hub inverter
Stackable to
3 units
29.099999999999998 kWh usable
01

What this system is

The SolarEdge Home Battery is the larger of the two systems here: 10 kWh of cells, 9.7 kWh of it usable, at 5 kW continuous. One unit runs most of a house; two or three cover an evening with an electric car in it.

What DC coupling buys and costs

The battery sits on the DC side of the Home Hub inverter, so energy from the array charges it without ever being converted to AC. One conversion instead of three is where 94.5% round-trip efficiency comes from - the highest figure on this page, and about five points better than the AC-coupled alternative.

The cost is architectural. The battery has no converter of its own, which means it cannot work without a SolarEdge Home Hub inverter behind it, and how many units you can stack is that inverter's answer rather than the battery's - typically two or three.

Reserve capacity

The 0.3 kWh between total and usable is not a rounding error. It is a floor the system will not discharge below, held back to keep the cells out of the deep-discharge region where lithium iron phosphate ages fastest. Quote on the 9.7.

Before you quote it
  • It requires SolarEdge Home Hub inverter. There is no configuration without one.
  • Size on the 9.7 kWh usable, not the 10 kWh total.
  • 5 kW continuous is what the house runs on; the peak figure is seconds of motor start-up.
  • 10-year warranty, not specified.
02

Full specification

Compare with the other system

The manufacturer's published figures, unrounded.

SpecificationSolarEdge Home Battery
Total capacity10 kWh
Usable capacity9.7 kWh
Continuous power5 kW
Peak power7.5 kW
Round-trip efficiency94.5%
ChemistryLFP (Lithium Iron Phosphate)
CouplingDC-coupled
RequiresSolarEdge Home Hub inverter
Product warranty10 years
Maximum units3
Weight104 kg
Dimensions730 x 440 x 220 mm
Ingress protectionIP55
03

Common questions

Does the SolarEdge Home Battery require a specific inverter?
Yes. The SolarEdge Home Battery is DC-coupled and requires the SolarEdge Home Hub (formerly SE-HD-Wave) or compatible SolarEdge inverter with a built-in backup interface. It cannot work standalone or with other inverter brands.
What is the difference between usable and total capacity?
The SolarEdge Home Battery has a total cell capacity of 10 kWh and a usable capacity of 9.7 kWh. The remaining 0.3 kWh is reserved to protect battery longevity and avoid deep discharge.
Can I expand the SolarEdge Home Battery system?
Yes. Multiple SolarEdge Home Battery units can be stacked together. The maximum number of batteries depends on the inverter model - typically 2-3 units per Home Hub inverter.
What warranty does the SolarEdge Home Battery come with?
The SolarEdge Home Battery includes a 10-year product warranty with a guaranteed minimum end-of-warranty capacity. The actual capacity retention target is specified per product generation.